The first Overland trip across America

I don’t typically repost news articles on my site but for this one I will make an exception. WIRED has published an story regarding the first Coast-to-coast Overlanding trip across America, which occurred in 1903. WIRED is referencing a story in a new book called “DRIVE!” by Lawrence Goldstone.

Packard Model F

The epic journey was a promotional adventure for Packard Motors proving that American made cars could traverse some of the most challenging terrain, and this is back when there were few roads and trails to speak of. I highly recommend you read the story.

As an aside, when I was younger in the 1990’s and lived in Detroit I would dance all night long at raves in the abandoned Packard automotive plant, so this story of the early Packard years has a special connection for me.

Leave a Reply

